A Letter to Myself: Aged 20

I am turning 30 in 222 days.  

If I look back at my 20s, I can say a lot of things.  I was brave, spontaneous, naive, emotional…not necessarily bad qualities.  The combination wasn’t always healthy.  But I would never change my past.

However, I wish I could write myself a letter and just say a few things from where I am now.  I probably wouldn’t of listened, because I knew EVERYTHING, but at least I would of tried.

Dear Rachel,

Don’t ever forget the person that you truly want to be.  The times that you get into trouble are the times that you forget what is important to you at the core.  Don’t ever think that the solution that you are looking for is in the bottom of a bottle, the lips of a man, or the swipe of a credit card.  If you are in need, you can always call your mom.  She might make you crazy, but ultimately she is on your side.

Anything you do to lose weight right now besides exercise and healthy eating will come back to haunt you.  If you don’t know a guy’s last name, it probably isn’t a good idea to go back to his place.  When someone tells you something is a secret, it is a secret.  If you want something to stay a secret, don’t tell anyone.  If something is bothering you, talk to the person directly.  The game of telephone is unhealthy to friendships that you value.  The love you are looking for might not be in the package you were picturing, so don’t judge ahead of time.  

Spend as much time with your grandma as you want, she is worth it.  Same goes for anyone you love.

There will be days that you aren’t happy.  That is called life.  There will be days that you are happy.  That is called life.  You don’t get to pick the days, but you get to pick your attitude.  That being said, you don’t have to be the bubbly sidekick all of the time.  A mental health day never hurt anyone.

Take care of your skin, or you will be really mad at yourself come 30.

Love, Rachel

It seems so simple now.  I hope that the next 30 years has me putting some of my knowledge to use.

3 responses to “A Letter to Myself: Aged 20

  1. I love your letter to yourself. What a wonderful idea! I wish I had seen this sooner because a collection of these would be great for my daughter. Hold onto this – and keep writing more. They’ll be great to look back on and share with your children someday.

  2. It’s never too late to start writing…I seriously need to start reminding myself of these things. I would hate to think I did so many stupid things in my 20 for no good reason! 🙂

  3. This is a great letter. I wish I had thought to write one, because WOW, a lot changed between my twenties and thirties.

Leave a Reply

