Day of Atonement

Tonight marks Yom Kippur, the Jewish day of Atonement.  I actually really like the fact that D and I got married right before the Jewish New Year (Rosh HaShana) because I am one of those “fresh start” people.  You know, diets start on Monday, financial planning starts the first of the month.  So to have my marriage start at the beginning of a fresh year?  Perfect for me.  The last 10 days in my religion have been filled with the important task of apologizing to people I have wronged, and forgiving people who have wronged me.  If I have inadvertantly hurt any of you, please take this as my sincere apology.  

And now, I am going to do something that I have never done, and probably you have never done either.  I am going to forgive MYSELF for the things that I haven’t done right in the last year.  I apologize to myself for: not losing 60 pounds, for not earning more money, for not keeping a cleaner house, and for not being more organized in general.  I know that I didn’t always try my best to be the person I want to be, and that is okay.  ALl I can ask of myself is that I do so in the future, and I trust that I will.  

That feels nice.   Let’s see if perhaps this year, I kick it into high gear!

Leave a Reply

