Maddie’s Day

I never met Maddie.  I have never met Mike, or Heather, or even Rigby.

But I know their story.  And my heart hurts.

Heather and Mike have done something with their grief that just AMAZES me.  They have taken it upon themselves to not only make sure that their daughter is remembered, but to make sure that other parents don’t have to go through the hell that they have endured.

Have you ever had one of those dreams where you wake up, in sleep paralysis?  Where you are stuck, not moving?  And watching something miserable unfold in front of you?  I liken that feeling to grief.  You can wake up everyday, and be rendered useless by the pain in your heart.

The Spohrs shock me with their ability, everyday, to wake up, shake off that paralysis, and live.  Live a life, filled with love and memories, so that Maddie is still here.  And it is changing people by the dozens.  (Don’t believe me?  Click on just of almost any Mommy Blogs).  UNBELIEVEABLE!

Happy birthday, Miss Maddie.  You are so loved.

Leave a Reply

